Find Us!

Kent/Akron Association of School Psychologists (KAASP)

Mission Statement:
KAASP is committed to promoting the professional growth of school psychologists by sharing ideas, methods, and current research and practices in the area of school psychology and other related fields. This association will also acknowledge its affiliation with and support of the Ohio School Psychologists Association and the National Association of School Psychologists by promoting membership and participation in said organizations.
Newsletter and Publications:

Spring 2017 Newsletter 

Membership Form (Updated August 2017):
KAASP Membership Form
2017-18 Meeting Schedule:

9/25/2015 - Math Interventions

12/10/2015 - Human Trafficking 

2/26/2016 - Solution-Focused Counseling

6/9/2016 - Best Practices in Evaluating English Learners

Ohio Counties Served:

Summit, Stark, Portage, Medina, Wayne, Mahoning, and Columbiana

Current President :

Stephanie Jozwiakowski


Past President:

Amanda Tandy



Rossana Torres



Keith Mesmer, NCSP

Nordonia Hills City Schools

Work: 330-908-6222



Kathy Soudry

Cuyahoga Falls City Schools

Work: 330-926-3800 x502818


OSPA Representatives:

Lynn Ciccantelli



Amanda Gilmore (Rogers)



David Tomasik


Membership Chair:

Christina (Tina) Riddell


Public Relations Chair:

Brooke Luczywo



Current Membership:
Number of OSPA Executive Board Members:
Usual Meeting Locations:

American Red Cross of Summit and Portage Counties, Akron, OH

St. George's Fellowship Center, Akron, OH

Contact for Meeting Information:

Keith Mesmer, KAASP Secretary


Additional Information:
KAASP is not only committed to accomplishing its stated mission but to enhance it by actively pursuing collaborative relationships with other organizations and agencies whose purposes are similar to KAASP in meeting the mental health needs of children.
"Celebrities" or Special Stories:

Our 2002-2003 KAASP Awards were presented to:

Mr. Donald J. Saracusa, Mr. Brian Hill, Patrick McGown, Robert Kubick Jr., and Aimee Kirsch for Best Practices

Patrick McGown for our School Psychologist of the Year

Recent OSPA Award winners in our region include:

 Amanda Tandy, Ed.S., winner of the Pete Gross Best Practices award in Spring 2015

Katherine Bobak Lavik, M.Ed., winner of the Early Career award in Fall 2013

 Kelly Kreitz, Ed.S., winner of the first ever Early Career award in Spring 2013

 Jeffery York, winner of the Ohio School Psychologist of the Year award in 2012

 Robert J. Kubick, Ph.D., winner of the Ohio School Psychologist of the Year award in 2011

 Paula Tucker and Maria Kraus, winners of the Pete Gross Best Practice Awards during 2007

 Don Saracusa, winner of the Ohio School Psychologist of the Year award in 2006

 Bonnie Horovitz, winner of the Pete Gross Best Practice Awards during 2005

 Donald Saracusa, Brian Hill, Patrick McGown, Robert Kubick, & Aimee Kirsch, winners of the Pete Gross Best Practice Awards during 2005

Janet Brunecz winner of the OSPA School Psychologist of the Year award in 2002

 Aimee Kirsch and Jeff York, winners of OSPA Pete Gross Best Practice Awards during 2002

 Elizabeth Bard, Ph.D., winner of the Clyde V. Bartlett Distinguished Service Award in 2001

 Jane Groh winner of the Pete Gross Best Practice Award in 2001

Special Activities :

Resources from the Overview of Evidence-Based Writing Assessment and Intervention presentation (6/2017):

Resources from the Math Intervention presentation:


Information from the WJ-IV presentation:


KTEA-3, 8/29/2014  Handout


WISC-V on Q-Interactive, 8/29/2014 Handout


Enhancing the Education of Student with Higher Functioning Autism Spectrum Disorder - Dr. Frank Sansosti, 4/15/10

The Neuropsychology of Emotional Disturbance - Dr. Steven Feifer, 3/20/2009

Pediatric Bipolar Disorder presentation- Dr. Steven Jewell, 3/3/08

Handouts from the 1/11/08 KAASP meeting, all documents are in PDF format:

Attention Deficit Disorder: Diagnosis and Mangagement in Primary Care - Dr. Tim Brown, PharmD

Kids and Antidepressants: Do They Play Nice Together? - Dr. Tim Brown, PharmD

 Handouts from the KAASP/CASP Response To Intervention (RTI) presentation (9/22/06), all documents are in PDF format:

 RTI Overview - Dr. Cathy Telzrow (Handout)

A Paradigm for Improving Performance for All Learners and Identifying Students with SLD - Dr. Telzrow
(Full Presentation) (Print Friendly Version)

RTI: Selected References - Dr. Telzrow

The District Perspective - Sharon Humphrey
(Full Presentation) (Print Friendly Version)

Practical Applications - A School Psychologist’s role in a District-Wide Response to Intervention Initiative - Dana Marolt
(Full Presentation) (Print Friendly Version)

Building Wide Support for Successful RTI - Bobbi Ingraham
(Full Presentation) (Print Friendly Version)